2017 National Championships – Howth YC Sept 2017
19 September 2017

SINBIN (Michael O’Connor, Davy Taylor & Edward Cook) are crowned the 2017 SB20 Irish National Champions @ HYC

After a 9 race series, sailed in a variety of conditions and hosted by the Howth Yacht Club, under the excellent stewardship of PRO Richard Kissane. Sinbin completed their run of success this year by taking the Irish National Championships but by only 3 points. It was a hard fought tussle with their traveling partners at this years Worlds, Bad/Kilcullen (Stefan Hyde, Jerry Dowling & James Dowling) who so nearly claimed the prize. The title decision went down to the wire i.e. not only to the last race but the last leg of the last race. Bad/Kilcullen lead the final race from the off. Sinbin had a poor start and it was not until the completion of the last run that they came through the fleet to achieve a 5th place which was just enough to clinch the title by 3 points.

21 SB20s competed in the Championships which is an increase in numbers on last year and a signal of the resurgence of the class in Ireland. The racing was as tight as ever with 7 different race winners. (Peter Kennedy, Dave Cheyne & Steve Kane) were a very close third. Fourth place was taken by the local boat Spanners (Daragh Sheridan, Shane Murphy & John Phelan). The fleet comprised competitors from all corners of the island and a good portion of the Dun Laoghaire fleet who sampled and enjoyed the local cuisine.

The silver trophy was won by Broomsticks (Marty O’Leary, Emmet Ryan, Rachael Williamson & Tara Cooke) a new team to enter the class this year. It was notable that there was a lady helm Sarah Dwyer (another RS200 sailor) competing and it is hoped that more lady helms will also join the class. The fleet was “kept honest” by the on the water judges Ailbe Millerick & Evan Dolan.

Special thanks must also go to the sponsors of the event and Dubarry.